Community forum

Please note that VisualCron support is not actively monitoring this community forum. Please use our contact page for contacting the VisualCron support directly.

jsobell
2009-12-17T00:57:02Z
... in order to get the bugs in earlier versions fixed I'm forced to buy a maintenance pack.
This is an archaic and extremely unpopular way of doing business, forcing customers to pay extra to get bugs repaired. Can you imagine having to pay an extra $100 to Microsoft to get windows service packs?
I'm a consultant in the finance industry and I persuaded the company I'm currently assisting to buy VC. Unfortunately they didn't realise that VC has an almost unique clause stating that if you download v5.0.0 and it has bugs, tough sh*t, you're stuck with those bugs unless you pay another $50.
Due to extortionist nature of this policy they've decided not to buy VC for their other data servers (and they have about another 8 running scheduled data manipulation processes), so now I'm stuck with only one copy, and I have to use the standard XP scheduler on every other box.

As an independent consultant I don't profit in any way from selling or recommending your product, so I'm complaining because I would like to use VC but can't.
At another customers I will recommend it *with* a maintenance pack, but when they ask "Why do we need their direct line support when you claim to already know how to use it?", I'll have to answer "Because they won't fix any of their own bugs unless you pay extra".

Please take this as constructive criticism and consider that you are losing sales by not providing free fixes for your bugs.
I'd suggest you separate your support contracts from your bug fixes like every other software company, making 'major revision' upgrades chargable (v5.x to v6.x) instead of 'bug fix' releases, as this way you will at least appear to stand by your product's quality.

Regards,
Jason
Sponsor
Forum information
jsobell
2009-12-17T01:09:27Z