Community forum

Please note that VisualCron support is not actively monitoring this community forum. Please use our contact page for contacting the VisualCron support directly.

sk_5910
2019-02-25T03:20:16Z
Hello,

I am very new to VisualCron & need to achieve something moderately complex to complete my trial.

I have several processes (& reports) that are dependent upon certain SQL processes completing. I can tell when they are finished when a simple SELECT from one DB matches the same SELECT from another DB. There is no way to determine the correct time to launch the processes by a clock, only by comparing these two values.

So I want to configure a JOB in VC to use these two SELECTs as Event Triggers to launch the TASKs. Once the JOB is complete, it shouldn't run again until tomorrow & again only when the SQL processing is complete.

Is this reasonable as an ET, or do I need more complex JOB logic to run (& rerun) the JOB until the conditions are met??

Any help/ideas will be greatly appreciated...

Simon
Sponsor
Forum information
jrtwynam
2019-04-04T14:00:28Z
Hi,

I've never used an SQL as a trigger before, but I have used it quite extensively as a task. If you run the two SQL statements and see the same result, and then launch this other process, is there something that then runs to ensure that these two SQL statements no longer have the same result, so that the process won't run again until the next day?

I suggest creating a job that does this:

1. SQL Task - run SQL #1 and store the output.
  2. SQL Task - run SQL #2 and store the output, using the same output settings as SQL #1.
  3. Set Job Variable Task - I forget the exact syntax, but I'd use a string compare function something like {LOGIC|String|==|SQLOutput1|SQLOutput2|Y|N}. This says "if the output from SQL1 equals the output from SQL2, set the job variable to 'Y'; otherwise, set it to 'N'".