Community forum

Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline jrtwynam  
#1 Posted : Friday, January 11, 2019 3:40:12 PM(UTC)
jrtwynam

Rank: Paid support

Joined: 7/20/2017(UTC)
Posts: 75
Canada
Location: Ontario, Toronto

Thanks: 3 times
Was thanked: 4 time(s) in 4 post(s)
Hi,

The company I work for uses an IBM mainframe is the backbone to many of its systems. Within the InfoPac section, there's a report that I'd like to be able to download to a text file, mainly because I need to do some analysis on the contents of the report, and this is the only source of this information that I've been able to find. Obviously the data is available somewhere or else it couldn't create the report, but the reality is that JCL/Mainframe coding resources are very limited so I have basically no hope of getting someone assigned to create me a daily extract of the data. I was hoping to be able to use VC to download this report every day (it generates several times a day - I need all versions). Once I have it in a text file, I can scrub that file to convert it into a format that's easily importable into something like Excel or Access so I can do my analysis.

I didn't see a task type in VC that looks like it'd let me connect to a mainframe. I could probably string together a bunch of tasks, something like "first, run this tn3270 emulator exe file; when you get to this screen, enter the username here and the password here and hit enter; when you get to this next screen, choose option 2; when you get to this next screen, enter report id <blah>; etc etc", but it seems like that'd be incredibly prone to failure.

Does anyone have any thoughts on how I might do this?

Thanks.
Offline Support  
#2 Posted : Wednesday, January 23, 2019 9:35:58 AM(UTC)
Support

Rank: Official support

Joined: 2/23/2008(UTC)
Posts: 10,819

Thanks: 821 times
Was thanked: 412 time(s) in 391 post(s)
Use the normal FTP Task. It should be compatible with most mainframe servers.

I do not think there is any other protocol that can "run" something remotely against mainframe.
Henrik
Support
http://www.visualcron.com
Please like VisualCron on facebook!
Offline jrtwynam  
#3 Posted : Wednesday, January 23, 2019 3:49:56 PM(UTC)
jrtwynam

Rank: Paid support

Joined: 7/20/2017(UTC)
Posts: 75
Canada
Location: Ontario, Toronto

Thanks: 3 times
Was thanked: 4 time(s) in 4 post(s)
I had thought about that, so I tried manually FTP'ing into the server yesterday (i.e. outside of VC). I don't have access to FTP into our mainframe - I'm not sure they give that access to anyone outside of the mainframe support team. I've contacted them to ask about granting me access, but it wouldn't surprise me if the answer is "no", in which case I'm back to screen scraping.
Offline Support  
#4 Posted : Wednesday, January 23, 2019 5:31:27 PM(UTC)
Support

Rank: Official support

Joined: 2/23/2008(UTC)
Posts: 10,819

Thanks: 821 times
Was thanked: 412 time(s) in 391 post(s)
Ok, let us know if you work with FTP and you get stuck.
Henrik
Support
http://www.visualcron.com
Please like VisualCron on facebook!
Users browsing this topic
Guest
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2019, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.247 seconds.
Scroll to Top