Is this a bug or am I just confused? - VisualCron - Forum

Community forum

rprastein
2010-08-13T07:06:18Z
So, I'm running VisualCron just locally, client and server. I've created a couple of jobs and tested them out. Now, to check out how the user permissions work, I've created three more user logins and one more set of user permissions (besides my own). When I login as the second user that has permissions, I get a new copy of all of my jobs, listed under the new user. This user has very restricted permissions, and that part seems to be working fine. But if I go back to the first user's section, and the username changes back to me in the connection bar, I still have the second user's restrictions. It seems whoever was the last one to log in locally is the one whose permissions have effect.

In and of itself, that's not a bad thing - I mean, how many times do you have two different users sharing a singles Windows session and expect different application permissions for the same functions in different areas of the screen of a single instance of the application, right? This hardly seems a fair use case.

Still, the UI behavior is not what I would expect. What I would expect is that I should only be able to log into the local server with one local login at a time. Either logging in as the second user should log me out as the first, or I should be prompted to log out of the first user before being permitted to log into the second one - in particular, if the permissions are all going to be for one user anyway.

Very, very minor point.

Anyway, what I had been curious to find out, and it's still an open question (for me), is what happens with a pair of remote clients - whether the UI will update in real time on the screen of the user *not* making changes, when the other user *does* make changes to the jobs/tasks/settings.

Also, are the user permissions server based or client based?

And another also, if I had two different server connections open, would I get the same behavior as I'm seeing now, or would the permissions change depending on which connection I was using? Maybe that's the same as the last question.

Thanks,

Rebeccah
ErikC
2010-08-13T08:39:32Z
Hi Rebeccah,

I will answer some questions of you:

rprastein wrote:

Anyway, what I had been curious to find out, and it's still an open question (for me), is what happens with a pair of remote clients - whether the UI will update in real time on the screen of the user *not* making changes, when the other user *does* make changes to the jobs/tasks/settings.

The client is reading from the server settings, so if something is changed, by somebody else, you can see this in the client. The UI will update this automatically, but it depends on the reading frequency of the client.

rprastein wrote:

Also, are the user permissions server based or client based?

The permissions are server based.
Otherwise it should be easy to install a different client and get more rights..

rprastein wrote:

What I would expect is that I should only be able to log into the local server with one local login at a time.


Sounds good to me. I donn't know why to logon twice on the local server within the same client.

Hope your question marks are gone now.😒

Regards
Erik


Uses Visualcron since 2006.
rprastein
2010-08-13T21:41:14Z
Yes, that clears it up. Thanks!

Rebeccah
Scroll to Top