Community forum

Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline GeoffAlbin  
#1 Posted : Thursday, March 14, 2019 4:06:07 PM(UTC)
GeoffAlbin

Rank: Paid support

Joined: 3/12/2019(UTC)
Posts: 14
United States
Location: Livonia, Michigan

Was thanked: 2 time(s) in 2 post(s)
I have built and configured a Windows 2016 Data Center cluster with 2 nodes. I implemented Storage Spaces Direct. (S2D)

that technology basically creates a shared virtual disk at C:\ClusterStorage\Volume1 (both nodes see the same disk)

my question is around the Role of the cluster. Do i need to create a high availability role for fail over capabilities? Ie Generic Application, Generic server, Other server?

I feel like i can install VC on the shared disk but how with the clients know what node is active? In order to create a virtual IP for the cluster to listen on, i need a Role, don't I?

thanks.
Offline Support  
#2 Posted : Thursday, March 21, 2019 11:03:35 AM(UTC)
Support

Rank: Official support

Joined: 2/23/2008(UTC)
Posts: 11,203

Thanks: 871 times
Was thanked: 446 time(s) in 424 post(s)
You should install on the shared node. What do you mean by how will the Clients now? Will it not be the same dns name or ip?
Henrik
Support
http://www.visualcron.com
Please like VisualCron on facebook!
Offline GeoffAlbin  
#3 Posted : Thursday, March 21, 2019 12:15:48 PM(UTC)
GeoffAlbin

Rank: Paid support

Joined: 3/12/2019(UTC)
Posts: 14
United States
Location: Livonia, Michigan

Was thanked: 2 time(s) in 2 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Support Go to Quoted Post
You should install on the shared node. What do you mean by how will the Clients now? Will it not be the same dns name or ip?


in a cluster, you have to a Role. a Role defines 2 major things.

1. what is the defined process that is actually clustered. Ie, a service, an app, a process, etc
2. what is the virtual IP for the above service or app or process.

without criteria number 1, when a fail over occurs, how will the new primary node of the cluster know what process or service to start?
without criteria number 2, the client or web URL potentially will be pointing to an inactive secondary.

Now, i could get around criteria 2 with a load balancer, however, in order to set up a load balancer, it also has to listen to a port or process to know when to activate node 1 or node 2.

I could also ask a simpler question; when i failover the cluster, how does the new primary node know to start the VC service?


Offline Rafikwt1  
#4 Posted : Monday, April 22, 2019 10:00:26 AM(UTC)
Rafikwt1

Rank: No customer

Joined: 4/8/2019(UTC)
Posts: 13
Location: Al 'Asimah, Kuwait

HI ,

i too have the same doudt , I have installed the cluster .but when install the app in the cluster shared disk , it dint asked any information about my cluster . Now how shall i determine my cluster and VS are in communication each other
Offline Support  
#5 Posted : Monday, April 22, 2019 12:15:31 PM(UTC)
Support

Rank: Official support

Joined: 2/23/2008(UTC)
Posts: 11,203

Thanks: 871 times
Was thanked: 446 time(s) in 424 post(s)
Originally Posted by: GeoffAlbin Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: Support Go to Quoted Post
You should install on the shared node. What do you mean by how will the Clients now? Will it not be the same dns name or ip?


in a cluster, you have to a Role. a Role defines 2 major things.

1. what is the defined process that is actually clustered. Ie, a service, an app, a process, etc
2. what is the virtual IP for the above service or app or process.

without criteria number 1, when a fail over occurs, how will the new primary node of the cluster know what process or service to start?
without criteria number 2, the client or web URL potentially will be pointing to an inactive secondary.

Now, i could get around criteria 2 with a load balancer, however, in order to set up a load balancer, it also has to listen to a port or process to know when to activate node 1 or node 2.

I could also ask a simpler question; when i failover the cluster, how does the new primary node know to start the VC service?





What options do you have for checking something? Can you check a process or service status?
Henrik
Support
http://www.visualcron.com
Please like VisualCron on facebook!
Offline GeoffAlbin  
#6 Posted : Friday, April 26, 2019 1:52:06 PM(UTC)
GeoffAlbin

Rank: Paid support

Joined: 3/12/2019(UTC)
Posts: 14
United States
Location: Livonia, Michigan

Was thanked: 2 time(s) in 2 post(s)
the normal option would be to add a "Service" as a clustered "Role". This would allow the clustering service to control the Visual Cron service state. Ie, Node 1 is running the service and Node 2 is waiting for a fail over but the Visual Cron service is NOT running on Node 2.

However, adding the VC service to the Role is not possible. At least I was not able to find a way to add the VC service to a Role.

Offline Rafikwt1  
#7 Posted : Sunday, April 28, 2019 7:52:44 AM(UTC)
Rafikwt1

Rank: No customer

Joined: 4/8/2019(UTC)
Posts: 13
Location: Al 'Asimah, Kuwait

Dear Geof,

I beleive we need to install seperatly VS in both nodes and in the cluster disk , once done VS services will be running in both node and dont forget to make this is cluster enviroment in server setting in both the nodes

then create a generic service in cluster and add VS services to it , this is bring VS to cluster and failover then

I am also new to VS , anyhow this is what i am going to try this week as i am also in processing of setting up VS cluster envrioment
Offline GeoffAlbin  
#8 Posted : Monday, April 29, 2019 1:26:29 PM(UTC)
GeoffAlbin

Rank: Paid support

Joined: 3/12/2019(UTC)
Posts: 14
United States
Location: Livonia, Michigan

Was thanked: 2 time(s) in 2 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Rafikwt1 Go to Quoted Post
Dear Geof,

I beleive we need to install seperatly VS in both nodes and in the cluster disk , once done VS services will be running in both node and dont forget to make this is cluster enviroment in server setting in both the nodes

then create a generic service in cluster and add VS services to it , this is bring VS to cluster and failover then

I am also new to VS , anyhow this is what i am going to try this week as i am also in processing of setting up VS cluster envrioment


Thank you. Please post back to this forum with your results. I hope you have success.
Offline Rafikwt1  
#9 Posted : Monday, April 29, 2019 1:28:32 PM(UTC)
Rafikwt1

Rank: No customer

Joined: 4/8/2019(UTC)
Posts: 13
Location: Al 'Asimah, Kuwait

when i install locally it is working but when i install in cluster disk it is not connecting ..

Confused
Offline Support  
#10 Posted : Tuesday, April 30, 2019 10:10:59 AM(UTC)
Support

Rank: Official support

Joined: 2/23/2008(UTC)
Posts: 11,203

Thanks: 871 times
Was thanked: 446 time(s) in 424 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Rafikwt1 Go to Quoted Post
when i install locally it is working but when i install in cluster disk it is not connecting ..

Confused


Make sure that the VisualCron service is running on the node. If yes, please send the file server_startup.txt to support@visualcron.com
Henrik
Support
http://www.visualcron.com
Please like VisualCron on facebook!
Offline Rafikwt1  
#11 Posted : Tuesday, April 30, 2019 2:21:00 PM(UTC)
Rafikwt1

Rank: No customer

Joined: 4/8/2019(UTC)
Posts: 13
Location: Al 'Asimah, Kuwait

i have send the log to support team , please check and get back
Offline Support  
#12 Posted : Tuesday, April 30, 2019 4:52:26 PM(UTC)
Support

Rank: Official support

Joined: 2/23/2008(UTC)
Posts: 11,203

Thanks: 871 times
Was thanked: 446 time(s) in 424 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Rafikwt1 Go to Quoted Post
i have send the log to support team , please check and get back


From which email did you send?
Henrik
Support
http://www.visualcron.com
Please like VisualCron on facebook!
Offline Rafikwt1  
#13 Posted : Wednesday, May 1, 2019 8:23:07 AM(UTC)
Rafikwt1

Rank: No customer

Joined: 4/8/2019(UTC)
Posts: 13
Location: Al 'Asimah, Kuwait

Offline Support  
#14 Posted : Thursday, May 2, 2019 4:56:02 PM(UTC)
Support

Rank: Official support

Joined: 2/23/2008(UTC)
Posts: 11,203

Thanks: 871 times
Was thanked: 446 time(s) in 424 post(s)
We did not receive it. Please send again. Also try sending to visualcron@gmail.com
Henrik
Support
http://www.visualcron.com
Please like VisualCron on facebook!
Users browsing this topic
Guest
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Scroll to Top