Community forum

Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline Scott Wilson  
#1 Posted : Friday, August 9, 2019 12:10:11 PM(UTC)
Scott Wilson

Rank: Paid support

Joined: 2/25/2019(UTC)
Posts: 3
United Kingdom
Location: England, Romsey

Thanks: 2 times
My go to method to save a doc is to just X out at the top right of the window, you're then prompted to 'Save' changes as opposed to file > save, file > quit.

When you hit the X top right of the dialogue box in VC your changes are gone without warning so I too frequently loose jobs, descriptions, SQL changes and variables.

Would be great if this functionality was added in.


Offline al355  
#2 Posted : Friday, August 9, 2019 12:12:15 PM(UTC)
al355

Rank: Paid support

Joined: 12/2/2013(UTC)
Posts: 390
United Kingdom

Thanks: 11 times
Was thanked: 43 time(s) in 39 post(s)
Yes we have had this issue also but on discussions with Visual Cron it doesn't appear to be too easy to add this, the dialogue would need to know if something had changed or not (or we just always save the job regardless of whether it has changed or not
Offline Scott Wilson  
#3 Posted : Friday, August 9, 2019 5:03:21 PM(UTC)
Scott Wilson

Rank: Paid support

Joined: 2/25/2019(UTC)
Posts: 3
United Kingdom
Location: England, Romsey

Thanks: 2 times
Originally Posted by: al355 Go to Quoted Post
Yes we have had this issue also but on discussions with Visual Cron it doesn't appear to be too easy to add this, the dialogue would need to know if something had changed or not (or we just always save the job regardless of whether it has changed or not


Instead of knowing if something has changed, could you do a comparison of the current job / task's saved (XML?) file against what the save would look like at the time the X is clicked and if there is a difference trigger the prompt?

Offline al355  
#4 Posted : Friday, August 9, 2019 7:13:04 PM(UTC)
al355

Rank: Paid support

Joined: 12/2/2013(UTC)
Posts: 390
United Kingdom

Thanks: 11 times
Was thanked: 43 time(s) in 39 post(s)
That seems like the logical way to do it to me also but it will need someone from Visual Cron to explain why it's not possible
Users browsing this topic
Guest
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Scroll to Top