Community forum

Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline tpeek  
#1 Posted : Wednesday, November 26, 2008 1:34:24 PM(UTC)
tpeek

Rank: No customer

Joined: 11/26/2008(UTC)
Posts: 1
Location: Houston, TX

It would be nice if a task could submit a message to a queue in MSMQ.

Edited by moderator Monday, August 15, 2016 4:11:45 PM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Offline Support  
#2 Posted : Wednesday, November 26, 2008 1:58:05 PM(UTC)
Support

Rank: Official support

Medals:
Joined: 2/23/2008(UTC)
Posts: 9,298

Thanks: 566 times
Was thanked: 321 time(s) in 309 post(s)
Just a string or do you want to serialize any object?
Henrik
Support
http://www.visualcron.com

Please like VisualCron on facebook!
Offline lal  
#3 Posted : Wednesday, January 14, 2009 3:31:31 AM(UTC)
lal

Rank: Free support

Joined: 2/28/2008(UTC)
Posts: 145

This is something that we are also interested in - I'm not certain of the requirements yet, as far as responding to your question. Is this something that may be upcoming for VC functionality?
Offline Support  
#4 Posted : Wednesday, January 14, 2009 10:28:53 AM(UTC)
Support

Rank: Official support

Medals:
Joined: 2/23/2008(UTC)
Posts: 9,298

Thanks: 566 times
Was thanked: 321 time(s) in 309 post(s)
Yes, if you can provide more exactly how you would like to use it. All details would be nice to know.
Henrik
Support
http://www.visualcron.com

Please like VisualCron on facebook!
Offline Support  
#5 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2009 9:24:37 PM(UTC)
Support

Rank: Official support

Medals:
Joined: 2/23/2008(UTC)
Posts: 9,298

Thanks: 566 times
Was thanked: 321 time(s) in 309 post(s)
Bump!

As we are looking at this, please provide us info how you would like to use this functionality and any ideas you may have.
Henrik
Support
http://www.visualcron.com

Please like VisualCron on facebook!
Offline lal  
#6 Posted : Wednesday, May 27, 2009 2:15:56 AM(UTC)
lal

Rank: Free support

Joined: 2/28/2008(UTC)
Posts: 145

We would need to be able to put a message on the queue; and to look at the queue for messages.

If there is more specific information that you need, I will try to get it.
Offline matthewlock  
#7 Posted : Thursday, March 8, 2012 6:25:15 AM(UTC)
matthewlock

Rank: No customer

Joined: 2/24/2012(UTC)
Posts: 14

Thanks: 4 times
Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
It would be great if VisualCron could have a trigger from an item in an MSMQ.
Offline Support  
#8 Posted : Thursday, March 8, 2012 10:39:13 AM(UTC)
Support

Rank: Official support

Medals:
Joined: 2/23/2008(UTC)
Posts: 9,298

Thanks: 566 times
Was thanked: 321 time(s) in 309 post(s)
Matthew,

any ideas about the format of message or thoughts about settings regarding this Trigger?
Henrik
Support
http://www.visualcron.com

Please like VisualCron on facebook!
Offline matthewlock  
#9 Posted : Friday, March 9, 2012 2:18:38 AM(UTC)
matthewlock

Rank: No customer

Joined: 2/24/2012(UTC)
Posts: 14

Thanks: 4 times
Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
Perhaps it could have a similar configuration form to the Email Trigger where by you could set the MSMQ trigger based on the name of the queue, the label of the message, or even the contents of the message?

Here's some idea of the fields available in a message queue.

MSMQ Viewer
Online al355  
#10 Posted : Wednesday, March 12, 2014 7:32:28 PM(UTC)
al355

Rank: Paid support

Joined: 12/2/2013(UTC)
Posts: 263
United Kingdom

Thanks: 4 times
Was thanked: 29 time(s) in 28 post(s)
We are also interested in this, it seems like one major difference between Visual Cron and some of the other similar tools on the market, most other tools support MSMQ (although they are also more expensive).
The MSMQ API is very easy to code against so I would hope that this can be added in the future. Initially just sending of MSMQ messages is sufficient but reading queues would also be good for the future.

Thanks,
Alex
Offline Support  
#11 Posted : Wednesday, March 12, 2014 10:03:04 PM(UTC)
Support

Rank: Official support

Medals:
Joined: 2/23/2008(UTC)
Posts: 9,298

Thanks: 566 times
Was thanked: 321 time(s) in 309 post(s)
Hi all,

we could probably implement this pretty soon. We would like some more feedback of the features, as detailed as possible, that you would like to see.
Henrik
Support
http://www.visualcron.com

Please like VisualCron on facebook!
Offline Bill Sinclair  
#12 Posted : Friday, May 15, 2015 12:24:39 AM(UTC)
Bill Sinclair

Rank: Paid support

Joined: 5/12/2015(UTC)
Posts: 1
United States
Location: Denver, CO

Another nice feature would be to trigger events based upon the number of messages (size) of a queue.
Offline Seth Coleman  
#13 Posted : Thursday, March 31, 2016 2:02:09 PM(UTC)
Seth Coleman

Rank: Paid support

Joined: 6/8/2015(UTC)
Posts: 3
United States
Location: North Carolina, Winston-Salem

I would like to see this feature as well. I would love to be able to start a job based on a message queue so I could put a UNC path to a file in the body of the message and have the first available server pick up the message and then process the file like a file event trigger. This would allow us to build some redundancy in our file processing so we could have a number of VisualCron servers and not have to worry if a particular one goes down.
Offline Support  
#14 Posted : Monday, August 15, 2016 4:11:33 PM(UTC)
Support

Rank: Official support

Medals:
Joined: 2/23/2008(UTC)
Posts: 9,298

Thanks: 566 times
Was thanked: 321 time(s) in 309 post(s)
We have now implemented the MSMQ Trigger here:

http://www.visualcron.co...p;t=6772&find=unread
Henrik
Support
http://www.visualcron.com

Please like VisualCron on facebook!
Users browsing this topic
Guest
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2016, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.466 seconds.
Scroll to Top