Community forum

Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline d32  
#1 Posted : Wednesday, April 17, 2019 7:23:00 AM(UTC)
d32

Rank: Paid support

Joined: 4/17/2019(UTC)
Posts: 5
Canada
Location: British Columbia, Vancouver

I'm trying to set up a chain of jobs of 1-2 executable tasks each (usually running an executable), and each subsequent job is triggered based on success of the previous, but I noticed that if I manually stop any of the jobs it is still considered a success and the subsequent jobs will still get triggered. Is there any way around this? I take it that it might have something to do with the return code that is determining whether the job is success or error, but I'm not sure how to set the return code when manually stopping a job or task or even in general when I'm running an executable.

Edited by user Wednesday, April 17, 2019 7:23:37 AM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Offline Support  
#2 Posted : Thursday, April 18, 2019 10:04:43 AM(UTC)
Support

Rank: Official support

Joined: 2/23/2008(UTC)
Posts: 11,167

Thanks: 866 times
Was thanked: 443 time(s) in 421 post(s)
At the moment it is considered a "success" when you stop a Job. What you can do is to use Job/Task control Tasks instead of Triggers in the end of each Job.
Henrik
Support
http://www.visualcron.com
Please like VisualCron on facebook!
Offline d32  
#3 Posted : Friday, April 26, 2019 12:43:14 AM(UTC)
d32

Rank: Paid support

Joined: 4/17/2019(UTC)
Posts: 5
Canada
Location: British Columbia, Vancouver

Not sure I follow. I would stop a task/job only if there were issues with the run in general, but since when I stop the task it was considered a success and since all subsequent jobs were successful previously the next job would still trigger.

I don't want to change the job/task control of a given job if I just want to stop and kill the problematic job/task without subsequent jobs triggering.
Offline Support  
#4 Posted : Monday, April 29, 2019 1:05:02 PM(UTC)
Support

Rank: Official support

Joined: 2/23/2008(UTC)
Posts: 11,167

Thanks: 866 times
Was thanked: 443 time(s) in 421 post(s)
Originally Posted by: d32 Go to Quoted Post
Not sure I follow. I would stop a task/job only if there were issues with the run in general, but since when I stop the task it was considered a success and since all subsequent jobs were successful previously the next job would still trigger.

I don't want to change the job/task control of a given job if I just want to stop and kill the problematic job/task without subsequent jobs triggering.


Yes, it is a valid point. We will see what we can do about that. I have submitted this to the developers. The way to work around it now is to use Job/Task control Tasks instead.
Henrik
Support
http://www.visualcron.com
Please like VisualCron on facebook!
Offline RobS  
#5 Posted : Thursday, June 6, 2019 5:50:50 PM(UTC)
RobS

Rank: Paid support

Joined: 6/4/2019(UTC)
Posts: 7

Thanks: 2 times
Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Support Go to Quoted Post
At the moment it is considered a "success" when you stop a Job. What you can do is to use Job/Task control Tasks instead of Triggers in the end of each Job.


This has been a somewhat troublesome issue for the processes I work with too. VisualCron has enabled us to efficiently combine a whole host of different processes efficiently, integrating the unique dependencies that each have on one-another. Having such an integration with a variety of third party software, along with internal processes means that there are often minor issues that need addressing. In such cases, the processes running may need to be stopped, and then rerun once the fix is in place (typically within a few minutes). These fixes tend to be relatively unique and require manual intervention, so they are not something we can handle with additional job/task control at this point in time.

The only work-around that we have found is to disable any jobs that follow, then stop the job, re-enable the respective jobs and resume. The issue with this approach is that disabling the job resets all of the triggers, some of which cannot be triggered manually. It is also quite error-prone with the potential to disrupt the flow of the processes.

A suitable solution for this may be to allow the option to define what stopping a job is classified as (success/fail/stopped), or alternatively adding an additional option to the job triggers such as "Job completed - stopped", and similarly the job flow to determine "On stopped -> Continue/Stop".
Offline d32  
#6 Posted : Thursday, August 1, 2019 8:41:54 PM(UTC)
d32

Rank: Paid support

Joined: 4/17/2019(UTC)
Posts: 5
Canada
Location: British Columbia, Vancouver

Is this still being worked on? Not sure if there is a resolution to this, and the workaround is cumbersome at best.
Offline jasminechen  
#7 Posted : Friday, August 9, 2019 3:13:57 AM(UTC)
jasminechen

Rank: Paid support

Joined: 6/4/2019(UTC)
Posts: 4

Is there any updates on this one?
Users browsing this topic
Guest
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Scroll to Top