Community forum

Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline stevja01  
#1 Posted : Wednesday, May 22, 2019 8:14:01 PM(UTC)
stevja01

Rank: Paid support

Joined: 7/10/2012(UTC)
Posts: 104
Location: Bentonville, AR, USA

Thanks: 23 times
Was thanked: 3 time(s) in 3 post(s)
VisualCron: 8.4.1
We are randomly having issues with task type below on a WEEKLY basis:
Task Type: FTP/FTPS/SFTP/SCP

1. Files do not download from client's FTP site at all, No Credentials and/or Credentials used
2. Files download successfully, No Credentials and/or Credentials used

Environment:
We use VisualCron Default Admin logon to always start up VisualCron on our production Windows server.
Windows Server 2007, SP 2; 64-bit OS

Do you have any idea why we might have these failures? Is there something with this server version that might be causing it, though it just started.
If there are any logs I can share, let me know WHERE and HOW and I can send.
Offline Support  
#2 Posted : Monday, May 27, 2019 2:49:41 PM(UTC)
Support

Rank: Official support

Joined: 2/23/2008(UTC)
Posts: 11,157

Thanks: 864 times
Was thanked: 440 time(s) in 418 post(s)
It depends on what kind of error you get?
Henrik
Support
http://www.visualcron.com
Please like VisualCron on facebook!
Offline stevja01  
#3 Posted : Tuesday, May 28, 2019 7:15:50 PM(UTC)
stevja01

Rank: Paid support

Joined: 7/10/2012(UTC)
Posts: 104
Location: Bentonville, AR, USA

Thanks: 23 times
Was thanked: 3 time(s) in 3 post(s)
Here are the 2 errors we had last week downloading from our client's FTP. Error 2 happened repeatedly, i.e. 10+ times:

Error 1:
Exception in Task: SevenZip.SevenZipArchiveException: Invalid archive: open/read error! Is it encrypted and a wrong password was provided?
If your archive is an exotic one, it is possible that SevenZipSharp has no signature for its format and thus decided it is TAR by mistake.
at VisualCronService.ProcessTaskArchiveDecompressClass.CDJMFGBLNJDPDEJFDKHPAHBBBBMJAIAOLEGJ() in C:\sourcefiles\code\VisualCronService\Jobs\TaskProcesses\File\Archive\clsProcessTaskArchiveDecompress.vb:line 254 - file: E:\FILE_NAME.zip

Error 2:
Exception in Task: Unaccepted server reply code 425
Error (5) downloading file(s): FILE_NAME.txt, err: Unaccepted server reply code 425 (425 Can't open data connection.), error code: 115713
Offline Support  
#4 Posted : Wednesday, May 29, 2019 4:11:32 PM(UTC)
Support

Rank: Official support

Joined: 2/23/2008(UTC)
Posts: 11,157

Thanks: 864 times
Was thanked: 440 time(s) in 418 post(s)
Error 2 might be something with PASV data channel limitations. Normally server has x number of Connections it can have open at the same time against the server. Maybe you hit the limitation. In this case VC is just returning the error.

About Error 1. Most likely something wrong with the file. I suggest putting that file aside and test if you can reproduce it in VisualCron. If you can, please send it to support@visualcron.com
Henrik
Support
http://www.visualcron.com
Please like VisualCron on facebook!
thanks 1 user thanked Support for this useful post.
stevja01 on 5/31/2019(UTC)
Offline stevja01  
#5 Posted : Friday, May 31, 2019 12:02:55 AM(UTC)
stevja01

Rank: Paid support

Joined: 7/10/2012(UTC)
Posts: 104
Location: Bentonville, AR, USA

Thanks: 23 times
Was thanked: 3 time(s) in 3 post(s)
Thanks for the info.
I'll follow up with our data provider re the #connections to the FTP site and if they have any logs that might explain why we are having connectivity issues. We had them again this week, but just changed the Credentials to another logon and it worked. We seem to change those randomly and the 2nd try will work. So very odd issue.
Offline Support  
#6 Posted : Friday, May 31, 2019 10:01:04 AM(UTC)
Support

Rank: Official support

Joined: 2/23/2008(UTC)
Posts: 11,157

Thanks: 864 times
Was thanked: 440 time(s) in 418 post(s)
Originally Posted by: stevja01 Go to Quoted Post
Thanks for the info.
I'll follow up with our data provider re the #connections to the FTP site and if they have any logs that might explain why we are having connectivity issues. We had them again this week, but just changed the Credentials to another logon and it worked. We seem to change those randomly and the 2nd try will work. So very odd issue.


Make sure just that the VisualCron service run as LocalSystem and only use Credentials when needed. This will help in these scenarios.
Henrik
Support
http://www.visualcron.com
Please like VisualCron on facebook!
thanks 1 user thanked Support for this useful post.
stevja01 on 5/31/2019(UTC)
Offline stevja01  
#7 Posted : Saturday, June 1, 2019 12:16:47 AM(UTC)
stevja01

Rank: Paid support

Joined: 7/10/2012(UTC)
Posts: 104
Location: Bentonville, AR, USA

Thanks: 23 times
Was thanked: 3 time(s) in 3 post(s)
We are downloading several files right in a row, multiple tasks in same job.
Is it possible that our repeated connection to the FTP site may be causing issue?
After we connect to FTP and download the file, does it log us off?

Offline Support  
#8 Posted : Tuesday, June 4, 2019 10:52:57 AM(UTC)
Support

Rank: Official support

Joined: 2/23/2008(UTC)
Posts: 11,157

Thanks: 864 times
Was thanked: 440 time(s) in 418 post(s)
Originally Posted by: stevja01 Go to Quoted Post
We are downloading several files right in a row, multiple tasks in same job.
Is it possible that our repeated connection to the FTP site may be causing issue?
After we connect to FTP and download the file, does it log us off?



We do disconnect after each Task.
Henrik
Support
http://www.visualcron.com
Please like VisualCron on facebook!
thanks 1 user thanked Support for this useful post.
stevja01 on 6/4/2019(UTC)
Offline stevja01  
#9 Posted : Monday, June 10, 2019 3:49:05 PM(UTC)
stevja01

Rank: Paid support

Joined: 7/10/2012(UTC)
Posts: 104
Location: Bentonville, AR, USA

Thanks: 23 times
Was thanked: 3 time(s) in 3 post(s)
Support we upgraded to VisualCron 8.4.1 in February which is when these FTP issues started happening.
Is there any bug reported w/this version related to FTP?

Last week, we had 1 task fail trying to get a connection after the PASV step, but then team tried again and it worked.
So far, when we do have a failure, they always occur at the same step, after PASV, trying to get a connection.

We did check with our client re their FTP site and they haven't made any changes on their side. Their response is below.

"Client would like to know if you moved over to any new FTP software, implemented new routers or made changes to firewalls/settings. Client has not made any changes to their FTP software or site in 2019"
Offline Support  
#10 Posted : Monday, June 10, 2019 9:49:05 PM(UTC)
Support

Rank: Official support

Joined: 2/23/2008(UTC)
Posts: 11,157

Thanks: 864 times
Was thanked: 440 time(s) in 418 post(s)
Originally Posted by: stevja01 Go to Quoted Post
Support we upgraded to VisualCron 8.4.1 in February which is when these FTP issues started happening.
Is there any bug reported w/this version related to FTP?

Last week, we had 1 task fail trying to get a connection after the PASV step, but then team tried again and it worked.
So far, when we do have a failure, they always occur at the same step, after PASV, trying to get a connection.

We did check with our client re their FTP site and they haven't made any changes on their side. Their response is below.

"Client would like to know if you moved over to any new FTP software, implemented new routers or made changes to firewalls/settings. Client has not made any changes to their FTP software or site in 2019"


Not that we know of. But can we reproduce it from here any way?
Henrik
Support
http://www.visualcron.com
Please like VisualCron on facebook!
Offline stevja01  
#11 Posted : Monday, June 10, 2019 11:25:52 PM(UTC)
stevja01

Rank: Paid support

Joined: 7/10/2012(UTC)
Posts: 104
Location: Bentonville, AR, USA

Thanks: 23 times
Was thanked: 3 time(s) in 3 post(s)
I'm not sure how to reproduce it. It's randomly happening and it's not always the same download task, even though we are downloading all 40+ files from the same site. We do use VARIABLES in the file names and this is the other odd thing. I can clearly see the file on FTP, but if I do a QC check to see if it finds a file using VisualCron, it sometimes will pull back a file match and other times no. So that's odd too!
Offline Support  
#12 Posted : Wednesday, June 19, 2019 9:44:24 PM(UTC)
Support

Rank: Official support

Joined: 2/23/2008(UTC)
Posts: 11,157

Thanks: 864 times
Was thanked: 440 time(s) in 418 post(s)
Originally Posted by: stevja01 Go to Quoted Post
I'm not sure how to reproduce it. It's randomly happening and it's not always the same download task, even though we are downloading all 40+ files from the same site. We do use VARIABLES in the file names and this is the other odd thing. I can clearly see the file on FTP, but if I do a QC check to see if it finds a file using VisualCron, it sometimes will pull back a file match and other times no. So that's odd too!


Best way would be to enable logging of sent and received data in the Connection. Then you will see the communication and exactly what you get from the server.
Henrik
Support
http://www.visualcron.com
Please like VisualCron on facebook!
Users browsing this topic
Guest
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Scroll to Top