Exclude folder(s), how should it work - VisualCron - Forum

Community forum

Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline itbbf  
#1 Posted : Tuesday, December 10, 2019 9:16:55 AM(UTC)
itbbf

Rank: Paid support

Joined: 1/14/2014(UTC)
Posts: 22
Finland

Thanks: 2 times
Was thanked: 3 time(s) in 2 post(s)
Hi,

I'm listing files from fileserver share and I get all, but can't exlude though there is option for that. Exclude is exactly what I need, also for file deletion.

Folder:
\\Fileserver\transfers
Exclude Folder(s):
\\Fileserver\transfers\archived
Include File mask:
*
(not selected) Is regex
(not selected) Casesensitive
(not selected) Use file exclusion

With settings above also content from \\Fileserver\transfers\archived is listed. I've tried also exlude folder \\Fileserver\transfers\archived\*, but no success.

2019-12-10_10-01-41.png
Offline thomas  
#2 Posted : Tuesday, December 10, 2019 10:51:46 AM(UTC)
thomas

Rank: Paid support

Joined: 12/10/2013(UTC)
Posts: 471
Norway

Thanks: 22 times
Was thanked: 181 time(s) in 137 post(s)
I just ran a few tests, and this is what I found. Assuming that you check 'include subfolders'

If you exclude a folder that only contains files (no subfolders), then it will work as you expect.
If you exclude a folder that only contains files, and empty subfolders, it will work as you expect.

If however, you have a folder temp1, that contains a subfolder temp2, and temp2 contains files, then it won't
help to exclude temp1 (kind of..). It will exclude the files in temp1, but It will still list the files in temp2, so temp1 will show up in the list.
You haven't excluded temp2, so it will list for example \\server\temp1\temp2\file.txt

Hope that made sense.

I see you are trying to exclude an archive folder, so I assume you have zipped folders in there. They will therefore show up in the list.
I don't know if this is the intended behaviour, but support will have to answer that. I guess you could argue
that when you exclude a folder, it should also exclude child folders . This seems not to be the case.

thomas

Edited by user Tuesday, December 10, 2019 10:55:07 AM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Offline al355  
#3 Posted : Tuesday, December 10, 2019 1:39:19 PM(UTC)
al355

Rank: Paid support

Joined: 12/2/2013(UTC)
Posts: 398
United Kingdom

Thanks: 11 times
Was thanked: 45 time(s) in 41 post(s)
This probably could do with another 'include subfolders' checkbox on the excluded folder
Offline thomas  
#4 Posted : Tuesday, December 10, 2019 2:20:39 PM(UTC)
thomas

Rank: Paid support

Joined: 12/10/2013(UTC)
Posts: 471
Norway

Thanks: 22 times
Was thanked: 181 time(s) in 137 post(s)
Yes I agree. The exclude folder logic becomes very brittle as it is. If somebody adds a subfolder to an excluded folder by accident, the whole logic falls apart.
Offline itbbf  
#5 Posted : Thursday, December 12, 2019 11:19:55 AM(UTC)
itbbf

Rank: Paid support

Joined: 1/14/2014(UTC)
Posts: 22
Finland

Thanks: 2 times
Was thanked: 3 time(s) in 2 post(s)
Hi,
your findings confirm my findings.

One workaround is creating multiple tasks for each folder under the main folder, but without including subfolders. Problem is there's quite a number of folders and they have subfolders. There's only limited number of folders that should be exluded. Let's see what support thinks.

thx!

Offline Support  
#6 Posted : Friday, December 13, 2019 10:48:34 AM(UTC)
Support

Rank: Official support

Joined: 2/23/2008(UTC)
Posts: 11,258

Thanks: 877 times
Was thanked: 450 time(s) in 427 post(s)
Originally Posted by: itbbf Go to Quoted Post
Hi,
your findings confirm my findings.

One workaround is creating multiple tasks for each folder under the main folder, but without including subfolders. Problem is there's quite a number of folders and they have subfolders. There's only limited number of folders that should be exluded. Let's see what support thinks.

thx!



In our answer, on email, we recommended using multiple exclude folder paths like:

c:\mainsubfolder\subfolder1;c:\mainsubfolder\subfolder2

Not sure if we misunderstood your problem.
Henrik
Support
http://www.visualcron.com
Please like VisualCron on facebook!
Users browsing this topic
Guest
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Scroll to Top